Random thoughts


Sometimes I find blogging and engaging in the blogosphere (even just reading) very difficult.

I really really love Melissa’s concept at Shakesville of social justice activism as being a teaspoon against a tidal wave, but sometimes that tidal wave just seems so huge and my particular teaspoon so small.

My job is in social justice and I spend a lot of my free time engaging in social justice spheres trying to become a better activist and ally. It gets very tiring and so sometimes I just have to leave it all for a while to prevent myself from getting burnt out.

To make myself feel better I think I am going to list all the ways I teaspoon on a regular basis.

I am a fat person (particularly here in Thailand) who does not try to hide my body. I am a fat person that goes clubbing and rocks it hard (you better believe it) on the dance floor every weekend.

I try to gently challenge the body hatred of the people around me

I eat when I am hungry and stop when I am full even though this means I seem to eat a lot more than the people in my office.

I frequently challenge peoples assumptions and stereotypes about sexuality and gender

I am a critical race feminist even when this means people around me think I am overreacting or making assumptions

I work out nearly everyday and this to me is a political act.

In my professional life I work to give a voice to women who don’t usually have one

I make sure that the work I do involves a lot of shutting up and listening so I can be a good ally

I try to spread this message as far as I can

 

I try my best and no one can ask more of me than that.

 

 

 

Posted on March 28, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow, let’s get you a medal

Leave a Reply

